Pieces

Gathering all my pieces,
those scattered when you broke me.
All through the floor I lie,
pieces cursing love’s genesis.

I huddle my legs.
Those that carried me to you,
led me to slaughter.
Afraid to ever walk again.

Muster my stomach.
The butterflies all dead now,
their carcases in pieces,
dancing in my belly no more.

Assemble my hands.
The ones that held you to me,
fingers that stroked your skin.
Now clenched to unwelcoming fists.

I collect my mind.
The one that spoke truthful,
while my weak heart was lost.
Cursed to be forever cautious.

Finally my heart,
the limp foolish thing that fell,
cut by your sharp false words.
Now marked forever by foul love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

