Harsh Light

This is not fun.
My eyes are open
and I can see it all now.
I don’t like what I’m seeing and
I almost wish my sight was still choked.

I was not happy in the darkness though.
Wandering between the cold shadows.
With my vision locked from truth and
only questions without answers
to keep me company.

Now everything is so bright,
so bright it cannot be denied.
It’s easy to ignore in the darkness,
but I cannot close my eyes
once they are opened.
I cannot go back to not knowing
I cannot go back to yesterday
where,
although I was wandering,
I did not know I was lost.
Where,
although I was grim,
I did not know I was unhappy.

 

Leave a Reply

